When Did C.S. Lewis Write The Chronicles of Narnia?

As an expert on C.S. Lewis, I can confidently say that he began writing “The Chronicles of Narnia” in the early 1940s. The first book, “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe,” was published in 1950, followed by six more books up until 1956. Now considered classics of children’s literature, “The Chronicles of Narnia” have delighted generations of readers.

But why did Lewis start writing these beloved tales in the first place? As a scholar of medieval and Renaissance literature at Oxford University, Lewis drew inspiration from the stories and myths of those eras. He also aimed to convey Christian ideals and themes through his writing, believing that children’s fairy tales were a perfect vessel for exploring complex theological ideas in a more accessible way.

Overall, C.S. Lewis wrote “The Chronicles of Narnia” over a span of several years, with the first book published in 1950 and the final one in 1956. Despite the passing of time, the beloved tales continue to enchant readers young and old alike with their imaginative characters, magical setting, and timeless themes.

The Life of C.S. Lewis

C.S. Lewis, born Clive Staples Lewis, was a British writer and scholar, best known for his work as a Christian apologist and the author of the popular series of children’s books, the Chronicles of Narnia. Lewis was born in Belfast, Ireland, in 1898 and attended Oxford University, where he later became a professor of English literature.

Lewis had a profound impact on Christian thinking through his work as an apologist. His most popular works in this genre include Mere Christianity, The Problem of Pain, and Surprised by Joy. However, his most widely known work is undoubtedly the Chronicles of Narnia series.

The Chronicles of Narnia is a collection of seven books, published between 1950 and 1956. The series has become a classic of children’s literature and is beloved by readers of all ages. The books follow a group of children as they discover a magical land called Narnia, which is filled with fantastical creatures and governed by a wise and just lion named Aslan.

Lewis’ inspiration for the series came from his own love of mythology and fairy tales, and he wrote the books with the intention of weaving Christian themes and morals into the stories. The first book in the series, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, was published in 1950 and was an instant success.

Lewis continued to publish throughout his life, and his writings remain popular and influential to this day. He died in 1963, leaving behind a legacy as one of the foremost Christian thinkers and writers of the 20th century.

In brief, C.S. Lewis wrote the Chronicles of Narnia series between 1950 and 1956, which became an instant classic in children’s literature, and was heavily inspired by his love of mythology and his desire to weave Christian themes into his stories.

The Creation of The Chronicles of Narnia:

When it comes to the creation of “The Chronicles of Narnia” by C.S. Lewis, it is not as straightforward as one might think. The seven books that make up “The Chronicles of Narnia” were written over a period of five years by Lewis.

The first book in the series, “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe,” was published in 1950. However, it was not the first Narnia story that Lewis wrote. In fact, the idea for Narnia came to Lewis long before he ever sat down to write the stories.

According to Lewis, he had a mental image of a faun carrying an umbrella and parcels through a snowy wood. This image eventually became the inspiration for the character of Mr. Tumnus in “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.” From this image, Lewis began to develop the world of Narnia and the stories that would take place there.

Lewis wrote the six remaining books in the series over the course of the next four years, with the final book, “The Last Battle,” being published in 1956. During this time, Lewis also wrote other books, including “The Screwtape Letters” and “Till We Have Faces.”

Interestingly, Lewis did not intend to create a series when he first wrote “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.” However, the overwhelming success of the book led to publishers asking for more stories set in Narnia. This ultimately led to the creation of the entire seven-book series.

In conclusion, when did C.S. Lewis write “The Chronicles of Narnia”? The answer is over a period of five years from the first book’s publication in 1950 to the release of the final book in 1956. The success of the first book led to the creation of the series that has become a beloved classic for generations of readers.

Publication and Success of The Chronicles of Narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia is a series of seven fantasy novels that have captivated the hearts and minds of readers of all ages for decades. Written by C.S. Lewis, a prominent British author, scholar, and theologian, these books have become a treasured classic in the literary world. But when did C.S. Lewis write The Chronicles of Narnia?

The first book in the series, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, was published in 1950, and quickly became a bestseller. Lewis wrote the book between 1949 and 1950, and it was the first of seven books that he would write in the series. The books were published in the following order:

  1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)
  2. Prince Caspian (1951)
  3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)
  4. The Silver Chair (1953)
  5. The Horse and His Boy (1954)
  6. The Magician’s Nephew (1955)
  7. The Last Battle (1956)

The Chronicles of Narnia received critical acclaim from literary critics and readers alike. The books have been translated into over 47 languages, and have sold over 100 million copies worldwide. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe has been adapted for radio, television, stage, and film, with the most recent film being released in 2005.

One of the reasons for the success of The Chronicles of Narnia is their ability to appeal to both children and adults. The books are filled with richly woven characters, settings, and themes that evoke emotions, imagination, and wonder in readers of all ages.

In conclusion, C.S. Lewis wrote The Chronicles of Narnia between 1949 and 1956, and the first book in the series was published in 1950. The Chronicles of Narnia is a beloved classic that has transcended generations and continues to inspire readers around the world.


In conclusion, we have learned that “The Chronicles of Narnia” is a beloved children’s book series that has been enjoyed by generations. The series was written by C.S. Lewis, a British author who wrote it over the course of several years.

We have also found out that the first book in the series, “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe”, was written in 1949 and published in 1950, and that the entire series was completed in 1956.

It is interesting to note that Lewis was inspired to write the series by his Christian faith, and that he used the stories to convey important moral and spiritual lessons.

Overall, “The Chronicles of Narnia” is a timeless classic that continues to capture the hearts and imaginations of readers both young and old. The fact that it was written over 60 years ago and still remains popular today is a testament to its enduring appeal and universal themes.